Junior Eurovision 2021 Reviews: Poland – escYOUnited

0

All opinions expressed in this article are those of the person cited and do not necessarily represent the opinions of other team members or of ESC United as a whole.

There are 2 days until the Eurovision Junior 2021, and we count the 19 participating nations in Paris on Sunday, December 19, 2021.

Each day we will do an overview of a participating nation in alphabetical order, recapping how they got to Eurovision Junior, a brief history of the nation’s participation, a brief biography of the artist, and finally, our panel. of “expert” editors give the entries a score out of 10 and a short review.

Today we take a look at JESC’s recent powerhouse, Poland, which should be an inspiration to countries whose early JESC results have been horrific.

Poland’s history at Eurovision Junior:

Poland was one of the countries of the very first Eurovision Junior in 2003. They came last. Poland regained ground in 2004. They came last. Poland took this as a sign, pulled out and won’t come back until 2016.

They were 11th in 2016, 8th in 2017, then the unexpected happened – they won in 2018. Roksana Wegiel performed “Anyone I want to be” and Europe said: “girl you are a winner “.

She shouted it from the top of her lungs and took Poland’s victory at Eurovision Junior. And until Carla and “Bim Bam Toi”, Wegiel’s official video was the most watched video in the history of Eurovision Junior.

Viki Gabor repeated the trick for Poland in 2019 with a landslide victory, becoming the first host nation to win the JESC and the first to win two in a row, with “Superhero”. Gabor’s victory came thanks to stellar televoting numbers (Kazakhstan won the jury vote), and Poland is once again hoping Polish viewers will speak for them.

Unfortunately, despite the pre-tournament chatter about Poland for a third straight move, they couldn’t as they changed direction with “I’m Still Standing” by Ala Tracz (co-authored by rep Polish Eurovision Song Contest 2018 Gromee). “I’m Still Standing” came 9th.

Before Eurovision Junior 2021:

Poland has decided to bring its 2019 and 2020 national selection back to 2021. On June 5 and 6, 2021, Polish broadcaster TVP held auditions and found 21 aspiring candidates.

In three semi-finals, these 21 competitors were reduced to three. In each semi-final, seven contestants performed covers, with three jurors made up of Polish music experts and former Eurovision / Junior Eurovision contestants.

Marysia Stachera won semi-final 1, Miłosz Świetlik Skierski won semi-final 2 and Sara Egwu-James won semi-final 3.

For the grand finale, each singer was paired with an original song, two of which were written by Gromee and Sara Chomiel-Gromala (Gromee’s wife and “I’m Still Standing” co-author).

It was the song that was not written by them that got the green light to represent Poland at Eurovision Junior 2021: “Somebody”, by Sara Egwu-James.

The artist

Sara Egwu-James (entered in the competition as Sara James) was born on June 10, 2008 in Słubice, Poland. Of Polish and Nigerian descent, Sara has performed in competitions and local talent contests since she started learning piano at the age of 4.

Sara is battle-ready for JESC, having won the Polish franchise of The voice of children.

The song:

“Somebody” is a positive ballad intended for people who may be feeling down. These people are someone, they matter, they don’t have to face their demons alone.

Dominik Buczkowski-Wojtaszek and Patryk Kumór return for another try at Eurovision Junior, having already tasted victory as co-composers (with Małgorzata Uściłowska – alias Lanberry) of Viki Gabor’s “Superhero”. They also co-wrote “Empires,” which was Alicja Semplinska’s entry for the canceled Eurovision 2020.

A talented multi-instrumentalist, Buczkowski-Wojtaszek is also a member of the Polish indie group Young Stadium Club.

Patryk Kumór is also a keyboardist who has performed in metal bands, primarily the progressive metal band Division by Zero and the symphonic black metal band Darzamat. Kumór, playing under the name Specter, was the keyboardist and chief arranger for Darzamat’s 2005 album “Transkapartia”. Those interested in the initial state of mixing symphonic and orchestral elements with extreme subgenres such as black metal or death metal will appreciate this album. Although Septic Flesh, Carach Angren and Fleshgod Apocalypse are the big names in the symphonic metal genre these days, Darzamat is a well-known and underrated symphonic metal group that bridges the present day with the sounds of Dimmu Borgir and Cradle. of Filth.

Jan Bielecki and Tom Martin complete the writing and production team.

With the context out of the way, here’s what we think of ESC United as Poland enters Eurovision Junior 2021.

Have their thoughts on Eurovision Junior this season: Boris Meersman (Belgium), Connor Terry (Oklahoma), James Maude (California), Melanie Otto (Netherlands), Roy Postema (Netherlands), Stefan Resimic (Serbia) , Tyler Griffiths (Alaska) and William Carter (Texas).

The verdict:

Boris – 8 – “I was expecting ‘Someone’ to fall with consecutive plays because I prefer imperfect to perfect, but I really like it Following every time I plug in. This is a great indicator of its quality, I think. Sara and her song are legitimate very good (and possibly winning) which makes Poland’s lack of insight adult Entries to Eurovision are even more confusing.

Connor – 9 – “Poland have taken no prisoners for the fourth year in a row, proving they can do a killer overhaul AND select an incredible singer via national selection. My favorite part about this song is that the first chorus of the song is in Polish, then the second chorus is in English. They made it a magical experience, and I know they too are going to kill it with the directing. Also check out one of Viki Gabor’s singers in Gliwice in the clip! “

Jacques – 9 – “Poland is not playing, and although there are other serious contenders for JESC to steal the air of invincibility and inevitability that Viki’s ‘Superhero’ had in 2019,” Someone signals once again that they intend to focus on winning with a powerful anthem aimed at tween, early teens. And once again, they have found a charismatic and charming performer to deliver.

Melanie – 9 – “When Sara James won her national final I was convinced she was going to bring Poland their third victory. Someone is such a hymn and Sara is an amazing artist. I’m just sad that Poland was one of the first countries to reveal their song, because that bothers me a bit. The song is so addicting and it kept me tuned in. I just listened to this song a little too much. However, people watching the show are likely to be listening to the song for the first time and also experience the winning vibe. Such a promising artist and I hope we will also see her represent Poland in the regular Eurovision Song Contest. “

Roy – 7.5 – “Poland understand Junior Eurovision like no other since winning. This song is definitely here for another victory for them this year. The beat is lovely and dancing and Sara’s voice is amazing! My biggest problem is that Also sounds a bit like this would be the introductory song for the whole competition. The beat is just a little underwhelming and a little too harmless for me. Other countries in comparison have a much more convincing beat. Sara and her voice are certainly the most important factors in explaining why this might outperform other songs which are in a similar stage.

Stéphane – 9.5 – “Sara sounds so much better live than in the official video so I don’t have to worry, I’ll just be keeping my fingers crossed for a creative performance, with a cascade of fireworks. Even though it’s not my ultimate favorite, I secretly hope Poland wins.

Tyler – 7.5 – “” Somebody “is a good song, and Sara James sings the song well and shows her vocals in a pretty nice way and proves that Poland is a powerhouse in JESC. That being said, I’m not sure if the song is for me. suits just as well to set myself apart as the others. The song is good though, but not catchy enough for me to remember it as well as some of the others. A solid effort.

Guillaume – 8.5 – “Never bet against Poland at Eurovision Junior. Vocally, Sara is pretty blameless. Watching her winning performance in the national final, she has such ease on stage. His confidence is palpable. It is to be watched. We could see her on Eurovision one day soon. I’m not totally blown away by the song. There’s nothing surprising or particularly unique about it, but it’s a really solid pop composition. The directing potential is endless and I trust Poland to bring out its best assets. I wouldn’t be at all surprised to see Poland take another victory.

Total: 68 points (Average = 8.5)

This could bode well for Eurovision Junior 2021. While no individual reviewers named “Somebody” as their best entry, it was still enough to average 8.5 points and place second. Could “someone” be that second or third choice for online voters sneaking into victory? A dazzling live performance combined with an oscillation for other top acts like Italy, Armenia, France or Spain could see Poland join Georgia on three JESC titles.

Across fourteen countries, here’s how ESC United ranked entries.

1.) Italy – 68.5 points (Average = 8.563)

2.) POLAND – 68 points (Average = 8.5)

3.) Armenia – 67.5 points (Average = 8.438)

4.) France – 67 points (Average = 8.375)

5.) Georgia – 63.5 points (Average = 7.938)

6.) North Macedonia – 61.5 points (7.688)

7.) Azerbaijan – 59.5 points (Average = 7.438)

8.) Ireland – 57.5 points (Average = 7.188)

9.) Netherlands – 57 points (Average = 7.125)

10.) Albania – 53.5 points (Average = 6.688)

11.) Germany – 52.5 points (Average = 6.563)

12.) Kazakhstan – 48.5 points (Average = 6.063)

13.) Malta – 38.5 points (Average = 4.813)

14.) Bulgaria – 36.5 points (Average = 4.563)

#YOU think Sara James is “someone” who can bring Poland a third JESC victory? Let us know in the comments below, on social media, or on our forum.


Source link

Share.

Comments are closed.